# The Connecticut General Assembly

## **REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE**

#### SENATE

Senator Donald E. Williams, Jr., Co-Chair

Senator John McKinney Senator Leonard A. Fasano Senator Martin M. Looney

Sandra Norman-Eady, Project Coordinator



#### HOUSE

Representative Lawrence F. Cafero, Jr., Co-Chair

Representative Christopher G. Donovan Representative Sandy H. Nafis Representative Arthur J. O'Neill

## **REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE**

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

## FRIDAY, APRIL 8, 2011

## 1:00 PM in Hearing Room 1B

Senator Williams called the meeting to order at 1:15 P.M.

The following committee members were present:

- Senators: Donald E. Williams, Jr., 29; John McKinney, 28; Martin M. Looney, 11; Leonard A. Fasano, 34
- Representatives: Lawrence F. Cafero, 142; Christopher G. Donovan, 84; Sandy H. Nafis, 27; Arthur J. O'Neill, 69
- I. Opening Remarks

Senator Williams, Senator Fasano, Senator McKinney, Senator Looney, Representative Cafero, Speaker Donovan, Representative Nafis and Representative O'Neill introduced themselves.

II. Election of Co-Chairs

Representative Cafero stated that leadership of the Reapportionment Committee rotates every ten years when they elect the co-chairs.

A motion was made by Senator McKinney and seconded by Senator Looney to nominate Senator Williams as Co-Chair of the Reapportionment Committee. The motion was passed by a unanimous voice vote of the committee. Senator Williams stated that this is truly a bipartisan committee consisting of four democrats and four republicans.

A motion was made by Speaker Donovan and seconded by Representative Nafis to nominate Representative Cafero as Co-Chair of the Reapportionment Committee. The motion passed by a unanimous voice vote. Representative Cafero read remarks regarding the committee's purpose (remarks attached).

III. Introduction of Project Coordinator, Sandra Norman-Eady

Senator Williams indicated that the nonpartisan staff play an important role in this process and introduced Sandra Norman-Eady who will act as the committee's project coordinator. Sandra Norman-Eady introduced other nonpartisan staff: Kristin Miller of OLR to act as the nonpartisan Public Information Officer for general redistricting inquiries; Kristin Sullivan and Susan Price both of OLR; and Paul Alderucci and Rino Feole of ITS will act as the nonpartisan Information Technology Project Leads. Kristen Miller can be reached at 860 240-1441 or by fax at 860 240-1440. Senator Williams indicated that a proposal should be put together for the next meeting on how best to facilitate access to the public terminal for redistricting.

IV. Public Hearings

Representative Cafero stated that ten years ago one public hearing was held in each congressional district and in keeping with tradition the committee should have at least 5 hearings this year. The previous hearings occurred in late June and early July. OLR can act as a hub, coordinating hearing locations and times. Any suggestions the members have regarding the hearings should be passed on to OLR.

V. Commissioning of Website

Senator Williams said the committee will have a website. He asked OLR and the IT staff to work together to present a proposal on the website's contents for the committee's vote at the next meeting.

VI. Representative Cafero asked if Monday, May 16 at 1 P.M. would be a good time for the next meeting. The members agreed it would be.

Senator Williams adjourned the meeting at 1:34 P.M.

Sandra Forte'